Chinese Provinces

In terms of its area, China is the third largest country in the world but it is the world's largest based on population. Because it is so large, China is divided into 23 provinces, 22 of the provinces are controlled by the People's Republic of China (PRC),4 municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing), 5 autonomous regions (Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Tibet, Ningxia, Xinjiang) and 2 special administrative regions (Hong Kong, Macau).
The 23rd province, Taiwan, is claimed by the PRC but it is not controlled by the PRC and is thus a defacto independent country.

Read More About Chinese Provinces